College Checklist for the Disabled

Happy Fall!

It’s about that time of year when teens are applying to college and I am in that process as well. I’m not even that far into the process and I am already seeing important aspects of picking colleges and applying to them when you have a disability.

Applying to college is a stressful process on it’s own, but when you add personal health requirements, the stress doubles. Are colleges becoming more adaptive towards different people? Yes, but sometimes it is just not enough.

This morning I went on a college tour around Simmons College in Boston, and I was making a mental list throughout the day. And I started noticing small things that are required for me and what I can be more flexible about. In this post, I will be sharing small mental notes that are extremely useful to me, and maybe you!!

408px-Disability_symbols_svgnew_1

Quick Tip: One site that is essential to my college progress is, College Board. This site has an in-depth list of colleges that you can narrow down by your needs. For example: one of my requirements is wheelchair access, so when I put that into my profile and that narrowed down the list to colleges that have wheelchair accessibility everywhere on campus.

calipic4  IMG_4563

  1. Is this campus within 10 minutes of an emergency room?
  2. How many buildings are not accessible to me because of my body?
  3. Are there dorms that I can control the temperature in?
  4. How far away is the Residential campus from the Academic campus?
  5. How far away is public transportation (if in a city)?
  6. How much experience does the college have with helping disabled students?
  7. What is the highest temperature and lowest temperature this location experiences?

FullSizeRender-2

I hope this helped in some way 🙂

sign-off1

One thought on “College Checklist for the Disabled

Leave a Reply

