Confidence with Scars

Happy Friday! Today I decided to write a quick post about confidence. I have had 7 major surgeries, that left behind big and ugly scars. With every surgery I get more self-conscious. I think winter is my favorite season because I have an excuse to cover up.

My medical history is very unique, and I get worried when I talk about it. I get afraid that people might judge me about having a disorder, even though I can’t control it. So whenever people see my scars, they always ask personal questions that are sometimes difficult to answer.

FullSizeRender-2

I love to educate people about Ehlers-Danlos… but in person when I’m caught off-guard, my anxiety level tends to go up.

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender-6

My go-to way to feel confident with this is to use heavy duty concealer and powder. Then to spray it with a time-extending spray. (The products I use are ones from my collection)

Screen shot 2015-02-20 at 5.26.49 PM

Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Concealer

Screen shot 2015-02-20 at 5.30.01 PM

BareMinerals Perfecting Veil

Screen shot 2015-02-20 at 5.27.38 PM

Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray

I hoped this helped, even a little!

– Isabel

2 thoughts on “Confidence with Scars

  1. This is great thank you 🙂 I have a big scar on my calf after surgery and whilst I don’t think about it often, sometimes when I wear dresses or skirts it would be nice to cover it up from time to time.

Leave a Reply

