The Science of Hepburning

I wish parts of 1950s American culture were still alive. What happened to men acting like gentlemen? Also, what happened to the amazing women’s fashion? Walking down a street in 2013, men are wearing pants down to their knees. Women are dressing like they work in the adult entertainment industry. I mean come on, how is seeing your butt cheeks not supposed to burn my eyes? And how is it possible, that my bra gives more coverage than your entire shirt? Is this a generalization? Yes. But if I were to take a poll, about 7/10 women would say they personally dress in minimal clothing. What does that say about our culture?

Hepburn Collage

Since most young women get their style inspiration from current celebrities and they dress like streetwalkers, it’s hard for me to find present inspiration. Which is probably why my biggest style influence comes from Audrey Hepburn. Doesn’t ring a bell? Think “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” or little black dress. Audrey Hepburn is the epitome of classic and glamorous (while still conservative). Audrey Hepburn is in the International Best Dressed List Hall of Fame, and even the amazing Salvatore Ferragamo made a shoe for her and titled her ambassador of his fashion house.

My top style lessons I’ve learned from Audrey are:

  1. Menswear looks great on women (if you wear it right)
  2. Simple is a staple
  3. Work on having good posture

All Hail Audrey!

~Isabel

2 thoughts on “The Science of Hepburning

  1. Pingback: “Oh Audrey – I look like hell! I got bags under my eyes.” | The Secret of My SucCecil

  2. Pingback: Audrey Hepburn Framed Art - Limited Time Only

Leave a Reply

